Return to Headlines

LHS Seniors Honored as Missouri Scholars 100 Recipients

March 25, 2024

Lindbergh High School seniors Cindy Yao and Brett Ninneman have been distinguished as two of the top academic students in the state through the 2024 Missouri Scholars 100 program. This statewide initiative, organized by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals, recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of 100 outstanding students from the graduating class of 2024.

"This is a testament to their hard work and academic success," said Dr. Eric Cochran, Lindbergh High School Principal. "It's an honor for their teachers and families as well. These students are two of the best and brightest at LHS and I'm excited that they are being recognized at the state level."

Their recognition will culminate in a special luncheon hosted at the Holiday lnn Executive Center in Columbia, MO, on Sunday, April 21, 2024.  Missouri Scholars 100 is a competitive program that invited schools across the state to nominate candidates based on academic excellence. The selection process employs a formula considering the student's grade point average and ACT or SAT scores.

Nominees must meet the criteria of an "Academic Decathlon," successfully navigating ten challenging academic events to showcase their scholastic strength.  To qualify, students must hold a minimum GPA of 3.750, a minimum ACT score of 29 or a minimum SAT score of 1,280, rank in the upper ten percent of their class, and engage in advanced coursework in mathematics, science, English, and foreign language. Additionally, nominees must exhibit excellent attendance, exemplary citizenship within the school, and active participation in the school's activity program. 

"The Missouri Scholars 100 Program is one of the premier academic recognition programs in the country," said Clark Mershon, Executive Director of the principals' association. "lt is truly a celebration of learning. Students selected for this program have taken a rigorous course of study and maintained the highest academic standards. The Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals wants to celebrate the achievement and success of these students and their schools." 

The 2024 Missouri Scholars 100 program marks its 30th annual recognition, reflecting a longstanding commitment to honoring academic excellence.