Return to Headlines

Seven Flyers Named National Merit Semifinalists

Sept. 15, 2020

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation recently announced that seven Lindbergh High School students have been named semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. Approximately 16,000 students earned the honor nationwide.

National Merit Semifinalists are high school seniors who show exceptional skills, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies. Lindbergh’s honorees include Samuel Byerly, Riley Christian, Alex Hubbard, Mary Lanio, Jackson Terrill, Zoe Vetter and Abigail Wagner.

“These students have worked hard through their high school career, and they have truly earned this honor, ” said LHS Principal Dr. Eric Cochran. “This directly reflects their commitment to education, support from families and the teachers who motivate and prepare them for success after high school.”

These students were among 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools who entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents fewer than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors and includes the highest scoring individuals in each state.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2021 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join more than 353,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.